how I got into MIT (I think)

here are the reasons I think my application stood out

I wish I were a fly on the wall of the admissions office so I could give you an exact answer.

But here's the reality: without looking at my admissions file, I can only speculate about the reasons I got into MIT. I will never truly know why the readers decided to give me a shot. However, having been in the admissions space for quite some time now, I have my hunches.

Now before I get into my analysis, check out Next Admit if you need help with your college essays this summer. We have a team of Ivy League consultants who can provide detailed feedback in as little as 24 hours.

Alright, let's do this…

The Givens

When I applied to MIT, I had a 98.55 GPA, a 35 on my ACT, and 11 AP classes under my belt. I call these the “givens” because every admitted student has a strong academic record; these stats put you in the running, but they alone won't get you in.

Also, MIT pays a lot of attention to STEM performance in particular (obviously). But did you know that the 25th percentile SAT Math score at MIT is a 780? Like WHAT? (Caltech’s is 790, which is even more wild.)

As for my STEM scores, I got a 36 on the ACT Math section and an 800 on the Math II SAT Subject Test. (Don't worry, Subject Tests don't exist anymore.)

By the way, before I continue along, my point here is NOT to flex. It's to paint a clear picture of the reasons I believe my application stood out to MIT, which is something I've been asked about ever since I started making content.

My Narrative

As you've probably heard me say in multiple videos and livestreams, my main extracurricular was web development. I started making websites when I was 11 years old, and by the time I was a senior in high school, I had developed nearly a dozen different websites—everything from niche blogs to random web tools.

Not only did this activity spur my interest in technology, but it was also my first foray into business. By the time I was in 9th or 10th grade, I started placing ads on my websites and generating revenue.

However, tech and business was just one half of my narrative. The other half focused on my love of writing.

I became Editor-in-Chief of my school’s newspaper my senior year of high school. And I thoroughly enjoyed the contrast between writing and coding, and how the two surfaced different parts of my personality.

And so this is what I doubled down on in my essays and interviews: the interplay between my analytical and creative sides, which I’m guessing stood out to MIT.

Vulnerability

I was vulnerable in my application—and not in a self-deprecating way, but in a way that enabled admissions readers to get a fuller picture of my personality.

For example, in the “Summer Activities” section, I didn’t limit myself to academic or professional pursuits; I also included casual endeavors and a couple random things I did just for fun.

In my essays, I came to terms with my knowledge gaps and told MIT that I didn’t know “the first thing” about machine learning. Scary, I know. The temptation to portray yourself as an infallible student is strong.

But I turned this “weakness” into a strength by highlighting my enthusiasm to explore machine learning at MIT, citing the specific campus resources I’d leverage along the way.

And then of course, I made sure to write how I speak (kinda like how I’m writing this newsletter). I kept my writing conversational, lighthearted, and real.

Fit

I’m sure you’ve heard many people talk about the concept of “fit,” which is one of the most important factors admissions officers consider.

And let me tell you, they do a pretty good job of selecting candidates who align with the school’s ethos.

Almost every student I met at MIT embodied the school’s spirit; they were builders, tinkerers, and hackers who were violently curious about the world around them.

Without forcing it, my essays did a decent job of highlighting fit—of showcasing my love of STEM in a way that aligns with MIT’s values. For example, in one of my essays I wrote about my desire to one day build my own web browser or OS system (what a nerd).

Concluding Thoughts

Again, my point here wasn’t to flex. It was to lay out the genuine reasons I think my application stood out to MIT.

Hopefully you can walk away from this newsletter with some ideas on how to enhance your own college applications! And please use everything here as inspiration—not some rigorous standard that you need to replicate.

MIT accepts thousands of students each year, and I guarantee you that each admit has a very unique set of reasons their application stood out.

Above all else, if you build effective study systems, pursue your genuine passions to the fullest, and embrace your raw, authentic voice in your essays, you’ll be fine.

If you want additional study advice, come join my Discord! We have a global community of students helping each other succeed in school. Would love to see you there.

And if you need help with college applications, check out Next Admit! We have a team of Ivy League consultants eager to help you navigate the admissions process.

I’ll see you next week!

Best,
Gohar